“Back to School”

 

Related image

Wow!  It is October 3 already!! The days are zipping by. Just a quick note to mention a few things:

  1. New books have arrived !! Please see the display case for some excellent new reads to cozy up with on these fall days.
  2. Mark your calendars for our Indigo Fundraiser taking place on Wednesday, October 11 from 6-9. We will be at the Charlottetown store to greet you and 20% of the evening sales will be directed to our library. It is an awesome opportunity!
  3. Check out the contest table in the library for 3 current poetry/short story/essay contests.

Our Library Monitors this year are as follows:

Monday – Chloe

Tuesday – Noel

Wednesday – Christina

Thursday – Carmen

Friday – Madelyn

Early mornings – Henry

Substitute  – Brandon  

Thanks to these fine folks for volunteering the time to help out!

Advertisements
Published in: on October 3, 2017 at 6:09 pm  Leave a Comment  

Did you know …

… that October is Mi’kmaq History Month. Please check out the book display in our library to learn more about Mi’kmaq history and culture.

download

 

 

Published in: on October 3, 2017 at 5:56 pm  Leave a Comment  

INDIGO FUNDRAISER!!

We have rescheduled our Indigo Fundraiser (from last November) to Friday, February 3 from 6-9pm. Our event last spring was very successful so we are looking forward to a great evening. Come out and support literacy at Morell High!

https://www.facebook.com/events/235189636890469/

Published in: on January 24, 2017 at 6:02 pm  Leave a Comment  

New “Book Club” title

Our next Book Club selection is Sarah’s Key by Tatiana de Rosnay. We will choose a meeting date in February.

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/556602.Sarah_s_Key

 

 

Published in: on January 16, 2017 at 6:03 pm  Leave a Comment  

Event Postponed!

Please note the MRHS Library Fundraiser at Indigo this Friday, November 25,  has been postponed due to the conflict with Black Friday events at the Charlottetown store. We will be rescheduling for a future date. Stay tuned!!
Published in: on November 22, 2016 at 6:17 pm  Leave a Comment  

Happy Halloween !

Things have been a bit spooky around here the last few weeks. If you are looking for a book that will give you chills and thrills … drop by. We have  just the thing!

Published in: on October 31, 2016 at 5:26 pm  Leave a Comment  

October Book Club

The Literary Lunch Bunch will meet during lunch on Monday, October 24 to chat about Harry Potter and the Cursed Child. Feel free to bring along a snack to share with the group.

Home

https://www.chapters.indigo.ca/en-ca/books/harry-potter-and-the-cursed/9781338099133-item.html

 

Published in: on October 21, 2016 at 1:02 pm  Leave a Comment  

School Library Week October 17-21

We will be celebrating our school libraries across PEI this week and MRHS Library has some fun activities lined up for you. Please open the link below and check out what we have in store!!

school-library-week

Published in: on October 13, 2016 at 1:50 pm  Leave a Comment  

New titles for April…

The last few books of our year’s order have arrived. Here is what is new and ready for you to sign out:

Happily Ever After – Kiera Cass  (Companion to The Selection series)

I Am The Mission  & I Am The Traitor- Allen Zadoff ( books 2 & 3 of The Unknown Assassin series)

Light of Day – Allison vanDiepen ( author of Street Pharm, Snitch, Takedown!!!)

Library of Souls – Ransom Riggs ( Book #3 in the Miss Peregrine series)

Stand Off- Andrew Smith ( If you’ve read Winger … this is a must!)

The High Mountains of Portugal – Yann Martel (Canadian author of Life of Pi)

Morning Star – Pierce Brown ( Completes The Red Rising Trilogy)

Room – Emma Donoghue ( If you saw the movie, now read the book!)

The Total Fishing Manual (April 15th is right around the corner!!)

Me, Earl and the Dying Girl – Jesse Andrews (Bet you saw this movie but you know the book will be better!)

Bone Gap – Laura Ruby  (2016 Printz Award winner; those books are always so good)

Firefight – Brandon Sanderson ( The Reckoners book 2)

Letting Ana Go – anonymous ( In the tradition of Go Ask Alice, Calling Maggie May etc)

 

Finding Jake – Bryan Reardon  ( school shooting plot told from a dad’s perspective)

Published in: on April 4, 2016 at 6:20 pm  Leave a Comment  

Library Fundraiser!

https://www.facebook.com/events/934692043305139/

Hey! No foolin’ …
Indigo Charlottetown will be hosting a fundraiser for Morell Regional High School on Friday, April 1 from 5pm to 10pm. 20% of evening sales will go back to the school to buy new books for our library! What a wonderful chance to support our school library while enjoying some April Fool’s Day shopping! We hope to see many students, parents and friends of Morell High there. Please share this event with everyone. See you April 1st!!!

Published in: on March 29, 2016 at 4:04 pm  Leave a Comment